Check It Out!

(photo from lifeofzarf.com)

This is going to be a very quick post because 1. I am on lunch break and 2. I only have 10 minutes left:)

I have been sitting here the last 20 minutes trying to find new books to show Rahni and I come across this littel gem Life of Zarf The Trouble With Weasels by Rob Harrell. What initially drew me into it wa sthe cover art for the book that is featured on Penguin’s website. I am a fan of Harrell’s other books such as Big Top and Monster on the Hill. I was totally unaware of this book, I am so glad that I clicked the link!

The book has all of the elements that we look for; great illustrations (of course because Harrell is amazing), cover art that will grab your attention, and a great plot (from what I read in the excerpt).  I love that it is a comic style/graphic novel style book with just enough prose that she doesn’t get bored or fly through it too quickly. Since she is really into the Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Dork Diaries, Big Nate, etc I think that this book will go over pretty well with her. Another thing I love is that the web page not only information on the book and author, but also it’s cahracters. To me, this really is great because it goes deeper than just what you read on the pages. It helps to expand your imagination about the characters and most importantly it promotes fandom amongst young readers. This is awesome to me as I am attempting to raise a geek:)

If you have time, definitely check it out! You can also read an excerpt here.

One thought on “Check It Out!

Leave a Reply

