Summer Reading List 2014

Before all of the snow days, summer break was right around the corner. Now, it’s around the corner, down the street, and over a couple blocks. Any how, it’s close…enough. With so much on my “to-do” list, I figured one of the easiest things to get scratched off would be helping Rahni to come up with a fun summer reading list.

Last year, Rahni participated in the Louisville Free Public Library’s summer reading program. She read about 200 books over her summer break. Most of them were picture books, and later in the summer she graduated into early chapter books. Now she is into chapter books and graphic novels. It was hard finding picture books for her reading level that she hasn’t already read. There were so many great books to choose from, it took us quite some time to make final decisions. These are the books that made the final cut, however, if I know my child as well as I think I do, she will deviate from this list. And that is ok with me, just as long as she’s reading something!

Matilda

Image

Like Carrot Juice on a Cupcake

carrot

Franny K Stein Lunch Walks Amongst Us

franny

Cam Jensen The Mystery of the Stolen Diamonds

cam

Ottoline and the Yellow Cat

ottoline

Ottoline Goes to School

ottoline

Madame Pamplemousse and Her Incredible Edibles

madame

Rapunzel’s Revenge

rap

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Reading List 2014

  1. Hello, Alyssia, Rahni and Mom 😀 I’m trying to figure out if Alyssia IS Rahni 🙂 Either way, the child in the beautiful header and the avatar are too adorable for words. Because of the glasses, I can’t tell if it’s the same chiild! lol

    Anyway, it was the adorable face in the avatar that I saw on Sue’s KidLitReviews that made me click, and here I am. Glad I found you 🙂 That’s quite a list of books you have there, many of which I hadn’t heard of before. I LOVE that you love to read! I’m looking forward to what you have to say about books 🙂

    • Hi and thank you for following! Alyssa is me, the mom and Rahni is the kid in the avatar and in the headliner. Thank you much for those kind words. Rahni absolutely LOVES reading and it simply blows me away! I often wonder how I became so blessed to have her.

      • So happy to meet you both 🙂 And just to clarify. It’s Alyssa or Alyssia (with the “i”)? And I agree—when we’re blessed with such wonderful children, it’s something to be especially grateful for. I know I am and it’s one of the biggest thing that keeps me smiling and grateful when I’m down 🙂 My son’s 28 now and happily married. He turned out good 😀

Leave a Reply

